Behind the houses in High Street, the church of the Holy Family,
a little jewel of Palladian architecture, lies hidden.
Built about 1778 to replace the timber-framed Presbyterian Meeting House of 1696, the chapel's oval plan and proportions show immediately its unique architectural merit. An old document describes this chapel as "an excellent building bearing evidence of erection by a wealthy congregation".
By then Unitarian, among its 'wealthy' members would have been William Prattington, the brothers Kenrick and Samuel Skey.The Meeting House closed in 1894 and fell into disuse.it was purchased in 1930 by a builder who used it as a store behind his house.
In 1945, the neighbouring house and land were bought by Wing Commander Howell, a Catholic. His enthusiasm to see the disused chapel restored as a place of worship for Catholics in the area was shared by many others and the chapel was purchased by the Catholic Archdiocese of Birmingham in 1951.
Restoration complete, the chapel was re-opened and dedicated to the Holy Family on the feast of Our Lady's Birthday, 8th September, in 1953.
These days the church is served from the Parish of St Wulstan and St. Thomas of Canterbury, Stourport-on-Severn. Sunday Mass is at 8am and on Holy Days at 12 noon. Weekday Masses usually take place on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 10am and the church is open daily.
Parish Priest Father Richard Sharples.
Local contact Deacon John O’Brien.